U-Turn?

This Saturday was an interesting day. For the first time, I went to a meeting of the OCA students at Thatcham. It was nice to meet people whose blogs I enjoy reading. Also, it was nice to meet one of the tutors who gives very useful advice on the official students’ forum and Flickr.

It was a very useful meeting for me. I was able to understand in what direction I need to go with my current assignment and later that day at home, I decided to simplify my plans for it and pick up a completely different topic to get over my photographic block. Since I don’t want to throw all my research out, my new topic is still about still life. However, the subject is completely diffirent. I think I have a good chance to finish with my assignment by the end of the month.

Also, there was another outcome of this meeting which has surprised me a lot. During the meeting I asked some questions about a few aspects of the after module assessments.  I finished my first module a few months ago and for a long time I was had trying to make my mind up whether submit my work on the AoP for an assessment or not. After my conversation with Clive, I thought that I might go for it after all.

In the evening, I realised that although I love photography, enjoy reading about different photographers and their work, I don’t feel I want to carry on studying at the OCA. My current course “DPP” is going to be my last course with the OCA, so there is no point in organising my old notes for the assessment. I’ll better spend my time learning something new.

4 thoughts on “U-Turn?

  1. It was good to meet you Etana. I was sorry to read that you’ve decided that you won’t continue with OCA after DPP because you seem to interested in photography and it’s good to meet someone with such enthusiasm.

    • It was good to meet you, too.

      I’m not going to give up photography 🙂 I just don’t feel that OCA’s model of study suits me well.

  2. Time to come back to the local photographic club, Svetlana??

    It would be lovely to see you back again 🙂

Leave a Reply

