“Before the Shutter” by Anne McKinnell

I love getting books. There are lots of books on the my shelves (wooden and iShelves) that are waiting for their turn to be read. One of these unlucky ones was the book by Anne McKinnell “Before the Shutter”.  Actually, I started reading that book a few years ago, in October 2012, but got distracted  and eventually forgot about it.

This year, after my favorite book app became available on an iPad,  I decided to create an e-catalogue of all my photography books and rediscovered a few good books that I’d forgotten about , “Behind the shutter” among them.  Since I’m working on creating an effective workflow, I decided to flick through it pages again and I started with reading my highlights.

17 October 2012: “Creating a timeless image has as much to do with the work that went in to the photograph long the shutter was pressed as it has to do with what happened on the scene.”
“It takes no more effort for one of the greats to click the shutter than it does for anyone else. The difference is the hard work they put in before they got to that point.”

I carried on reading about all those thorough preparations  that could lead a photographer to creating an amazing photograph.

The first 7 chapters of the book deal with basic aspects of preparation like research, planning, packing, scouting and getting reading for the shot. It was interesting to read the questions Anne McKinnell asks her self while preparing for a trip. I was really impress by her list of “of creative options for the birds”, but she made a good point: “Of course all of the opportunities may not present themselves but I find it useful to think of them ahead of time.”

There are also interesting chapter on what to do when you are on location and  about to press the shutter. It was interesting to discover that even after such proper preparations for your best image, she recommends takes several shots using a different f-stop and several frames adjusting framing or angle.

The last chapter “After The Shoot” is very shot, but still there were a few useful for me suggestions.

I enjoyed reading the book and although it doesn’t say anything new, it presents a logical system that could help me create a bit better images if I were a landscape photographer.

This book on the iBooks Store: https://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewBook?id=521486023

Leave a Reply

