Exercise 1 & 4: Editing

Since the photo session with my friend did not go exactly according to plan, I took more pictures than I intended to. I decided that I try to use Exercise 4: Editing, to deal with the pictures from that photo session. Also, I decided to try out a new application on my iPad. I’d heard so many times that Photosmith was a fantastic app to rate the pictures.

I was put off getting Photosmith immediately by its high price and low ratings. However, the app had been updated recently and the new version started getting good reviews. Also, there was a temporary price reduction. I used the moment and got the app. It was easy to sync it with my computer.
After uploading pictures from the memory card to my hard drive and the backup drive and tagging them with a few standard tags using my “DPP-Exercise” preset, I created two collections. One collection was a standard collection for the pictures taken for a specific task ( in that case), the other collection was necessary for transferring required pictures to my iPad. Then I published the second collection (45 pictures) using Photosmith’s publishing service for Lightroom to my iPad. My next steps were completed on my iPad.
  • Step 1: The Technical Edit
Ex1-PhotoSmith-picks-rejects
Ex 1/4: First Step (Picks/Rejects)

At first, I went through all the photos sorting them into two groups: Rejects (18) and Picks (27). The definite misses went to the former group, the rest went to the latter.  I used the lightroom’s standard white and black flags to mark my choice.  Most of the photos I rejected because of technical problems (a bit out of focus, too much light, closed eyes, compositional problem). However, there were a few pictures that I rejected only because I thought that the pose of my model was not flattering. After I applied the corresponding flag to all the photos, I synced my iPad with Lightroom to check that I would get all my changes correctly. ( I worked with jpgs in Photosmith, but wanted to mark the corresponding dng file in Lightroom)  There was no problem, so I used Skitch to take a screenshot of this stage.

  • Step 2: The Selects

This time, I looked through my picks only and used one star to confirm that I had another look at this picture but didn’t like it and I used two stars to indicate that I thought that picture could be suitable for further work. I narrowed my selection to 21 pictures. I recorded my thoughts about reasons for giving six pictures only 1 star in my notebook. My main reason were lighting and composition.

  • Step 3: The First Selects
Ex1-PhotoSmith-picks-rejects-stars
Ex 1/4: My Final Screen (Picks, Rejects, Stars)

That time I looked through the pictures with two stars and marked with three stars pictures I really liked. This time the main reason for illuminating pictures from further selection was the background and pose.  This time I narrowed my selection to 7 images.

  • Step 4: Group & Review.

I had a break and looked through the pictures with 2 stars again. There was no reason to promote any of them. So I carried on analysing the seven three stars pictures and ended up with 4 pictures marked with 4 stars.

  • Step 5: Final Choice
DPP-P1-Ex1-Final Two-508184
Ex 1/4: The Final Two

It was a bit difficult to select two pictures. This time I thought about smallest details: eyes, hair, hands, scarf and so on.

The following morning, my friend came to see the pictures and selected a few. It was interesting to see that she liked different pictures. We used the red label to mark her choices. In the contact sheet I printed my rating and the label separated by the ampersand (&).

DPP-P1-Ex1-CS-508184
Ex. 1/4: At a glance: settings, ratings, label and time

It was interesting to work on my iPad. However, I found a bit difficult to move to the next stage selecting the required pictures. It much easier to filter pictures in Lightroom and using smart collection could speed up the process. Still, Photosmith could be useful to sort a small amount of pictures on location.

Leave a Reply

