Finding Myself

“… set yourself free for your own sake; gather and save your time, which till lately has been forced from you, or filched away, or has merely slipped from your hands”

Letters from a Stoic [Annotated] by Lucius Annaeus Seneca

There was a wonderful time when I could not even imagine a day without reading a book. I could forget about the time and spend hours reading page after page. I could read the same book several times in the same year. I got my copy of the fifth Harry Potter book just an hour after midnight and finished reading it well before noon.


What have I been reading recently? Not much: course books, books from the college reading list, several photography related books and a few parenting books and nothing for pleasure. Also, I’ve listened to several audio books on how to be productive, an audio book about about photography and two audio books on how to deal with a challenging child. Yes, I’ve got a few audio novels, but I could not find time to listen to them. Recently I’ve discovered that Joanne Harris wrote a few more books about my favourite characters taking the story of Chocolat further. I even got got an audio version of ” Peaches for Monsieur le Curé”, I could not find time for it.

Probably, I can find some consolation in this piece of wisdom ” Collect books, even if you don’t plan on reading them right away. Filmmaker John Waters has said, “Nothing is more important than an unread library.” I came across this idea in the book “Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative” by Austin Kleon.

This book is going to become the first book read in one go a few days after getting it. This very entertaining book deals with a few serious issues of creativity and the ways to overcome creativity blocks. There are so many ideas that could be useful for me. One of those ideas reminded me that even when you’re very busy, it’s still useful to do something just for pleasure.  It would be to read and write for pleasure for me. Also, I’ve started thinking of taking up knitting again. I remember that I planned most of my essays at school and my code at college while doing dishes and knitting my jumpers. I should get some of my old self back and hopefully improve my photography. (Still can’t see how knitting could help, but I’ll give it a try. At least I might finish a few old knitting projects that have been forgotten for years)

2 thoughts on “Finding Myself

    • Luckily, I’ve got a Kindle app 🙂 , but first I checked if there was its audio version on Audible. It would interesting to know your thoughts about the book.

Leave a Reply

